BMWONS newsgroup
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello Everyone

+4
r90sLifer
beemerbike
Dino
Alan Coles
8 posters

Go down

Hello Everyone Empty Hello Everyone

Post by Alan Coles Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:31 am

Hi, my name is Alan Coles. I'm the proud new (to me) owner of a 2004 R1150RT. Hope to make it out to the Arby's meets on Thursdays that Ken George told me about today. I forget what time these are, sorry Ken. ;-)

Also, I am looking at getting a pair of BMW Allround boots to replace/supplement a worn pair of Sidis, but as these things have to be ordered and I am a bit concerned regarding their fit. As most know, size is only part of the issue and every manufacturer uses different lasts. I'm wondering if anyone here has a pair (or any other BMW model boot) in size 9/9.5/10 that I could try to see how they fit.

To introduce myself, I guess I should say that I started riding friends bikes in the 60's, mostly small Hondas, an RD350 and street/trail bikes. I took the Safety Course in the early 70's and in 73' bought a 73' Norton 850 Commando in boxes. Yes, the original owner, and the factory had conspired to ensure that the bike didn't make it 4,000 miles before it needed a rebuilt top-end and complete primary drive. I rebuilt it and headed out across Canada on it with my friend Dick Lind on his BSA 650 Lightning. After an extremely circuitous route (5,000 mile just to get to Grand Bend, Ontario, on Lake Huron) we found that we had drunk far too much of our money to make it to Vancouver, let alone make it there and back. In fact I just had enough to turn around and head back to Halifax. Unfortunately, the bottom-end let go just outside Quebec City, on the old hump-backed bridge that went from Levis to QC. It seized right on the bridge in 5 pm Friday traffic. I shipped it home in a Ski-Doo crate, rebuilt it again, and rode it year-round while going to Dalhousie, until I sold it in 1976 to move to Vanc